• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Masonry fireplace and chimney

Sifu

SAWHORSE
I posed a question about what appears to be a non-compliant fireplace on another section but didn't get a reply so I'll try it here. Who does a builder turn to when he builds a non-compliant chimney? I am no expert on them but I can read the code and it looks pretty bad. I am wondering who he will turn to and who I can accept a third party report from. These are pretty significant installations in a pretty significant structure. Completely masonry with gas lines run to them for either gas logs or gas ignition.

Sifu said:
I posed a question about what appears to be a non-compliant fireplace on another section but didn't get a reply so I'll try it here. Who does a builder turn to when he builds a non-compliant chimney? I am no expert on them but I can read the code and it looks pretty bad. I am wondering who he will turn to and who I can accept a third party report from. These are pretty significant installations in a pretty significant structure. Completely masonry with gas lines run to them for either gas logs or gas ignition.
I would suggest an RDP for the job, if a non-prescriptive solution is being pursued. You may also request structural and mechanical analysis to substantiate the findings in their report.