• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

NC Garage Legal Finish Requirement

Enginear

Newbie here. I just completed a 40x40 2 floor attached garage addition to my home (Wake County NC). The county inspector(s) refuse to grant a CO unless I sheet rock the entire 2 floor addition. I had not budgeted for this so I am stuck between a (sheet) rock and a hard place. The total sheet rock required would be astronomical. I suggested that I could sheet rock the interface between the addition and the existing house from foundation to roof peak, but they reiterated several times that they won't pass the addition unless I sheet rock the entire garage. I suspect this is a means to collect more taxes from me for a "finished" garage (living space) , and not a "legal"code requirement. I am a mechanic and I use the exposed studs to install shelving & equipment. The permit I applied for & received was for "lights & storage". There is no plumbing or HVAC. Would I be wrong to "press" the issue for just the fire code between the addition and the existing house, or do they have legal ground for failing my inspection?

The use of the second floor would have some bearing on this but generally, I think you should request the section of code that requires this.

In general, I believe just the wall that is common to living space (house).

I think you are going to need to protect all structural areas. Underside of the second floor structure, underside of the roof rafters, party wall to the house, load bearing exterior wall. I agree with bill, ask for a section number.