• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Occupancy load for outpatient clinic

Denmarch

I am an architect designing an outpatient (pediatrician) clinic.
The gross area is under 4,500 S.F., so I am under the threshold for the requirements for fire suppression.
The new Michigan Building Code (2015) has a new category for "Outpatient areas" for Table 1004 Maximum Floor Area allowances per Occupant. (The Michigan Building Code largely based on the IBC).
That number is 100 S.F./ person, the same as for the offices.

My question is: Can I assume that the exam rooms are not simultaneously occupied in conjunction with the waiting room for the purposes of determining building occupancy load?
If so, do I base it on the area of the exam rooms or the waiting room?
The number is critical as the owner may want to reduce the area and thus reduce the the occupancy load in order to qualify for a single occupancy toilet at the waiting room. The preliminary design includes one single occupancy toilet room in the lobby, one for patients and one for employees. If I need to count the areas simultaneously, I am well over the 15 person threshold. If not and the owner may wish to trim the building area, I need to know if I can reduce just the waiting area to qualify or the exam room.

Thank you in advance for your response.

Welcome!