• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Options for dealing with hostile complainants (most extreme)

JimmyTreeX

How is everyone, hope all is well.

I wanted to reach out to get some advice and hopefully learn something new about a situation my department is currently dealing with. We are no stranger to crazy, unreasonable, unpleasant complainants (as I’m sure all of you can relate), but we are currently dealing with the “king” of them all. I’ve been a code inspector for 16 years and I’ve never seen someone go to the levels this guy has. He lives in an apartment complex and we actually did everything he initially wanted, causing us to write up EVERY single little thing (most that we would not normally pay any attention to because of how minimal they were). Ended up with 35 violations for a small 1 bedroom apartment and common areas of his building. After the 30 days were up and the violations weren’t corrected, WE all of the sudden became his enemy. He has since tortured us: constant calls to the inspector, his supervisor (me), the Director, etc. Threatening us all, being extremely verbally abusive, etc. etc. He then went up the chain to the Deputy Mayor, then the Mayor, and is now going after the City Council. He is actually going after the Council President by going to her opponent.