• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Problems with the industry

Yankee,

Thank you for your response! I agree that a good inspector simply must use

good judgment and be selective, else they could become unemployed rather

quickly.

I have been known to write up some rather lengthy code epistles in my time,

sometimes to my detriment. I'm still learning, morseo now, after 18+ yrs.

of doing this.

Like it or not the codes, all codes, are a minimum standard. If a contractor, or whoever, can demonstrate that the minimum standard is being met then it passes inspection. You as an inspector do not have to like it but you are obligated to accept it and move on.

i usually quit writing somewhere around 15 and say call when you are really ready!
Exactly! It's not our job to provide a pick up list for the contractor and subs, that should have been done before they call for inspection. Tract builders are notorious for that.

We do AM or PM inspections. Call before 8 AM and we will do the inspection that morning. Call between 8 AM and noon and we will perform an afternoon inspection. Had a builder that would call for an AM inspection and at the same time would say "And go ahead and out me on for the afternoon so i can fix the red tag items.

I broke them from the habit by making the AM inspection around 11:45...11:59. Then I would go right back at 12:01...05 and write another red tag. Before I would come out again they would have to pay a reinspection fee! :)