• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Requirement for disconnecting a single bath exhaust fan

EricWatkins

I'm a mechanical inspector and have never run into this. I was actually just inspecting a furnace replacement but it was done by a low-income agency contractor. The furnace was basically fine but the home owner mentioned that they installed a new bath exhaust fan (a different contractor for the same agency) and that it never shuts off. Sure enough, they hard-wired it, I'm assuming from the hot end of the light switch as it was merely a replacement of the existing. Still though, she has a legitimate complaint in my book, but I can't seem to find the right code section to back myself up before I call the contractor. Can someone more NEC-minded help me out here? Thanks!

Does include continuos??

Bathrooms-Toilet Rooms Mechanical exhaust capacity of 50 cfm intermittent or 20 cfm continuous

1507??

Last edited:
The Energy Code will limit continuous exhaust rates as the fan is exhausting 'conditioned' air.

$ ~ $ ~ $

Eric,

I will assume that there isn't much of an amperage load from the
lighting; in this restroom, and the inclusion of the additional load
from the Exhaust Fan probably won't violate Article 220.18
[ `08 NEC ] either...........Also, ...your application seems to be
in compliance with Article 210.23(A) [ `08 NEC ]...........Continuously
exhausting too much conditioned air is another story........This
would be addressed through the Energy Conservation Codes.

Also, ...the continuously running Exhaust Fan does not