• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Residential Concrete Questions

doug_adkins71

Newbie Here - Homeowner

I need help in finding answers please. I entered into a contract with a General Contractor to do two room additions on grade/slab in Kentucky. At the start we had a discussion in which he was to get the permit however later in the game I found that he did not and tried to say he thought I was getting it. I found out when I started having questions on the foundation and I asked for the inspection results that was supposed to be done before the pour. Of course he didn't have that done either so we argued and he quit...Now I have questions on if he has done work to code and am trying to do the right thing and get permit/inspection and an honest contractor. I have one footer done and the other addition has the slab done. The slab is 15' x 20' and was requested to be a smooth finish as the final result was to be acid stained. The finish on this is a brush finish and I have many high and low spots..some as much as an inch...I have a 1/2" drop in 10' in one area. I don't remember if he pinned the home footer to the new addition footers but he said he did, is that code for that to occur? If I get an inspector to come out will they saw my floor is too unlevel? Can that brush finish be made smooth and still be acid stained? How can the footer be checked if it was pinned together, does it have to be broken open and inspected?

To start with;

Welcome to the forum.