• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

ridge beam wall opening

gabulldogs

hello, i'm a newbie with a question regarding the size beam needed to support my ridge beam. picture an easy rectangle house, 14'6" on both sides of the ridge beam, 13.13 rafter angle, 2x6 rafters 24" o.c., shingles,stick built, on slab, in georgia. the lower picture shows where i am going to open the wall (clear span) that supports the ridge beam. the total open span desired is 9' 10 1/2". i plan on using triple studs or quadruple studs on both ends of the beam to transfer the weight to the slab. the ceiling will be cathedral after i remove the section. size and type is the question, lvl, glu-lam, 2x12's?

Re: ridge beam wall opening

HI; Have you calculated the weight to the slab to ensure the slab is sized correctly to support this addtional loading? :)

the slab was poured thick throughout. they actually poured more than required for a typical slab house (4"). i just poured next to the slab section that the ridge beam rests on and noticed how thick it was.

Most ridge beams are supported by a post of some sort. I don't see one in your picture. I suspect you lack an understanding of the construction.