• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Roof Lumber sheathing

Uncle Bob

Asphalt shingles decking requirements. I'm trying to find spacing requirements for lumber (example: 1 X 8 boards) for roof decking and I'm lost and can't be found. I remember when I was a carpenter we would put an eight penny nail between boards and/or sheathing; but, since the great hail storm I'm getting requests for code requirements regarding spacing of roof decking lumber and/or sheathing and can't find it in the 2009 IRC. Code section or table please. Both would be nice. Not spans, just spacing between boards and/or sheathing. Is there a maximum spacing (not more than)?

Help,

Uncle Bob

Last edited by a moderator:
Not going to find it UB, not there, at least I haven't foundit. The code just says roofs shall be solidly sheathed. What does that mean? Guess it is up to you. I've told folks that we would allow 1/4" average, no more than 3/8" anywhere. I and my staff are comfortable with that.

Many roofs are sheathed with plywood or OSB and you will find no gap.

If 1x boards are used and they shrink as the wood dries out the gaps will be larger. So could the 3/8" end up as 5/8" if wet lumber was used? Could you have a situation where wet boards were installed with 1/4" GAP but then were allowed to sit for a couple of months in hot weather before being inspected and rejected because the gap was too large.

I would install them with no gap. I believe that this would be supported by the requirement that they be solidly sheathed.