• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Room size and Window Requirement

darcysams

Good afternoon. I am new here. I should say I'm new to reading codes. This is the first time I've ever tried to read building codes. Hopefully I won't annoy anyone and you'll be able to understand my rambling ways.

First a little background. I have a condo in a complex that was built in 1972. There are 3 buildings of 36 units each - 2 of those buildings (72 units) were damaged by a tornado. The buildings were condemned, but they are rebuilding. According to the information sheet mailed to owners they "will rebuild buildings B & C from the current shell. Both buildings will be stripped down to the studs and will be rebuilt and repaired to contractor grade standards."

Before the tornado the units were efficiencies. No interior walls except the bathroom. Only 650 sq ft. Small, I know, but it's on the beach so it's all I need. In the redesign they have added walls to make a bedroom. The new bedroom is 6' 10" wide (+ or - 6") and 9' long (+ or - 6") so it's about 63 sq ft.

In looking at the NC Building code in Chapter 12, Section 1208.3 Room area. "Every dwelling unit shall have at least one room that shall have not less than 120 square feet of net floor space. Other habitable rooms shall have a net floor are of not less than 70 square feet."

So according to the current NC Code they are not in compliance.