• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Salutations

ZanneJ

Bronze Member
Hello, everyone.

I am not a professional builder or anything like that. My father did some of what he called "meatball carpentry" and learned how to do some things in the army. He was in federal law enforcement but he liked to build things (he made the cabinets in our house and a desk and some other stuff). We worked on projects together until he passed away suddenly in 2009. We were in the middle of a bathroom renovation (which is still incomplete). So now I'm flying solo on it.

I live in an area referred to as a "no man's land" in terms of services and contractors. People had to be sent in from out-of-state to work on my satellite (I'm out in the country in the woods so I don't have cable, dsl, paved roads, mail delivery, or trash pickup). All of the people we initially hired to do work have passed away (most from old age, but a few from cancer).

I hold no illusions about doing any complicated plumbing or construction all on my own, but I am trying to learn about what needs to be done to help plan things out. I've been burned in the past so I want to make sure things are done properly. Currently I'm focusing on plumbing since I am trying to figure out how to do some bathroom renovations. All of my sinks are S-trapped and AAVs are not allowed in my state (Louisiana).

I like to collect information and learn as much as I can about how things work-- I admit I like to watch things on DIY network and HGTV.