• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Stair landings and office politics

codemonkey

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster. I'd love to get anyone's take/advice on how you'd handle a situation with code compliance. I'm new to an office and was asked to help do some field reports for a project far along in CA. I was specifically asked to check the stairs and found one to have landings that were not compliant per Georgia's NFPA 101 7.2.2.3.2.2, stairs and intermediate landings shall continue with no decrease in width along the direction of egress travel. I flagged it along with a number of other deficiencies/observations and moved on with my life (though I admit this issue would be a big cost to fix compared to other items). The construction arm of the business (same firm) first spent a couple weeks under the tact that I must be measuring wrong. Shops had the landing dimensions from inside of stringer to edge of nosing to equal stair width (inside of stringer to inside of stringer.) I've always measured it from wall to inside of guardrail, but I could see inside of stringer to inside of stringer as long as you were consistent with both the stair width and landing measurement.
Q1) how do you guys measure the stairs/landing widths?
Well, eventually everyone seemed to get on the same page and I thought this would go away. Then I got an email from the Arch-side project manager as an FYI forwarding a city office of buildings code official response that I quote: