• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Thank You Guys and a rant

MarcusGeiser

Bronze Member
I am a contractor and strive to produce the highest quality in all my projects. The longer I spend in the business the frustrating it gets. I cannot find anyone teachable that is interested in learning the why and how. The more I learn the more I find that I don't know. The state of the trades is terrible and only getting worse. Homeowners looking to save money contractors compromising or starving. Competing against hacks is killing me.

I looked at bids my neighbor recieved for his roof. At a quick glance they all seemed low except one. He wanted to know if I could match the lowest bid because as a good neighbor he wanted to give me the work. I appreciate it, I do. When I looked at the bid I didnt know what to say. I told him I'd get back to him.

Fast Forward. I sit down and look at the job. Get a complete materials list. My materials were so close to the estimate I had to do it all again. Same number. I couldn't possibly do the job for anywhere near that price. So I started deducting drip edge, ice and water trying to see how could anyone get here.

I ended giving him a price about a thousand more than the lowball, but he has three all the same ballpark? I gave him the materials list just to show him cost. I'm gonna do the job for him. But how do three contractors??? give similar quotes at such low prices?