• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Toronados

I'm not an engineer (and I don't play one on TV either) but aren't hurricane winds more straight-line as opposed to a tornado (swirl)? Where is the egg man? He can fix it with chicken wire...

TJacobs said:
I'm not an engineer (and I don't play one on TV either) but aren't hurricane winds more straight-line as opposed to a tornado (swirl)? Where is the egg man? He can fix it with chicken wire...
tj,

the eggman and the walrus have left the room, koo koo ka choo!

peach said:
you really can't design against an F5 tornado.
Not sure about that. The Hospital there in Joplin was close to the edge and was still standing. Granted the windows were gone but the structure was still there.

I would guess the real issue is pressure differences. Wood doesn't stand up that well.

If you look at the damage in Japan what I believe you will see is total damage to houses from tsunamis but in many cases more substantial buildings survived the tsunami with damage primarily to non-structural elements. When away from the tsunami I would expect many small buildings survived often with little damage. I would expect that the buildings constructed following traditional practices performed worse than buildings that were engineered and constructed in accordance with the design. This is what we have seen in previous earthquakes.

A 9.0 earthquake does not translate into a proportionally larger acceleration that what you will see in an 7.0 earthquake. The earthquake magnitude is related to the energy in the earthquake.