• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Warehouse Air Changes

DTBarch

SAWHORSE
Topic under discussion is the required air changes per hour (ACH) for a warehouse space in Phoenix, AZ. I'm an architect, not an engineer but my consultation with engineers on this topic has yielded a wide range of answers, and google search is even less productive. For the record, I'm speaking about leased warehouse facilities, not warehouses that are owned, occupied and operated by the same entity. The owner/landlord may have a records storage tenant now, but could lease to a manufacturing tenant in the next 5 years, then metal parts storage facility for the next, and so on...

ASHRAE appears to list the recommended air changes for warehouses as a range of 6 to 30 changes per hour. That is a massive spread in the range. In a warehouse served by evaporative coolers, trying to get to 30 air changes would take an insane amount of specialized evap cooler equipment, and in reality, most leased evap-cooled warehouse space in the Phoenix metro area are providing no more than 3 to 5 air changes per hour. Just look at the google aerial view of the warehouses in Phoenix. Very very few of them have that amount of equipment on the roof.