• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

water station versus drinking fountain

Philippe

I am an architect working on an office building for an engineering firm. The plumbing engineer insists that we can substitute the drinking fountain for a water station. I disagree. He called the building Department and was told that it would be OK to do so. I still disagree based on my interpretation of the code.

Any body out there that went through this with a hard permitted answer?

Pleas elet me know.

Welcome to the board

What code and state helps with the answer.

I am in Montana and yes the state ammended the UPC and a water station can be substituded for a drinking fountain. We do not enforce ADAAG.

Is a water station a goose neck faucet at a sink location?

You got me scratching!

So, what is a water station? or the "mythical water station ?"

Is it a barrel found in the desert with a flag above that supplies water for desert crossers!, no longer mythical!

It could be the white button next to the cola dispenser that's labeled water! but not required in some restaurants!

Still like to know the answer?

I believe the term is water cooler

DOJ Standards for Accessible Design, 28 CFR Part 36, App. A

4.1.3(10) Drinking Fountains:

...a water cooler; or by such other means as would achieve the required accessibility for each group on each floor.)

IBC 2006 E105.1 Water coolers. Where water coolers are provided, at least 50 percent, but not less than one, of such units provided on each floor shall comply with ICC A117.1