• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Building vs. Enclosure Distinction?

Paul Bixel

Hi Folks,

I am an electrical engineer, no so familiar with building codes. The subject of building code comes up in my world when designing outdoor electrical equipment as to what constitutes a "building" subject to codes. For example at every intersection with a stoplight I can see a stainless steel enclosure that encloses the electrical controls for that intersection. Is that enclosure subject to building codes? Is it a building and if not why not?

Thanks,
Paul

Hi Folks,

I am an electrical engineer, no so familiar with building codes. The subject of building code comes up in my world when designing outdoor electrical equipment as to what constitutes a "building" subject to codes. For example at every intersection with a stoplight I can see a stainless steel enclosure that encloses the electrical controls for that intersection. Is that enclosure subject to building codes? Is it a building and if not why not?

Thanks,
Paul

Normally not a Building

Size for one/ piece of equipment

Thanks for these responses. But in 312.1 of this code I see Group U covering structures not meant to be occupancies but still having code requirements. For example a 'tank' or a 'fence' is a structure that is covered by this code and it is not meant to be shelter or occupancy.