• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Cracked foundation five days after pour

I forgot to state, when I quoted above, that I honestly don't know if they vibrated it or not. I was not on scene when they did the pour. I thought it looked like there were a lot of surface air "pockets" on the sides as well, but I'm not experienced. I just based my opinion on the other foundations I have seen which didn't have those pock marks.

I agree it could be compaction due to the crack in the wall and down to the footing. Back filling green concrete for sure can crack the wall. Big rocks or a concentrated bucket or dump truck load of soil dumped in the garage cavity can bump the green concrete causing a vertical crack.

Noticed the foundation guys wet set the anchor bolts (ICE), and that there appears to be no portal hole straps attached to the foundation for the garage opening. Maybe using another way to get the portal hole framing passed. Simpson strong-tie maybe?

Sorry for my ignorance, but what is a portal hole strap?

When I hear "reputable builder" I take it with a grain of salt. It may just mean that the person saying so did not have any problems.