• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

2006 IBC 3410 evaluation on non-separated mixed occupancy

cballinger

Bronze Member
If you didn’t see my newbie post, this is my first time posting a question here. Go easy on me. :) I am a Building Code Analyst (aka plan reviewer) in Indianapolis, IN. We currently enforce the 2006 IBC as amended by the State of IN.

I have a 7000sf non-separated, non-sprinklered mixed occupancy F-1/A-2 (brewhouse/pub - not sure why they are using F-1 classification rather than F-2, but we’ll go with it). About 3500sf for each occupancy area. They submitted a 3410 evaluation for change of occupancy in an existing building. (No IN amendments to any of the sections in question.)

Section 3410.6 states, “In applying this section to a building with mixed occupancies, where the separation between the mixed occupancies does not qualify for any category indicated in Section 3410.6.16, the score for each occupancy shall be determined and the lower score determined for each section of the evaluation process shall apply to the entire building.”

I have always interpreted that the way this evaluation works for the various sections is you use the requirements of the building to determine the category in each section, then look at each occupancy value under that category to determine the score value for that section. Then the lower of the two score values is used in Table 3410.7.