• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Building accessory structures before primary dwelling unit

aardvark

Hi all,

I'm a newbie. I've got only an avocational code interpretation background, but I'm learning a lot in our present endeavor.

My wife and I are planning to build our own home in Pennsylvania to be closer to her family in NJ. Wisconsin is just too far away. We are planning a home in an area zoned "Land Conservation" in a rural county, which seemed to provide the most flexibility for what we wanted to do.

The county zoning official says that I can't put up and use ANY structure prior to a certificate of occupancy on the primary dwelling unit. No storage building. No chicken coop for our chickens. No place to lock up a skid-steer or tractor. He said the restriction was an underlying condition in the zoning category, but I can't find it anywhere in the zoning ordinance.

Ironically, if it weren't for pesky deed restrictions, neither the county zoning nor township ordinances preclude living in a tent after getting a permit for a portable toilet, and the sewage officer is happy to issue such a permit. Deed restrictions also prohibit mobile homes.

This puts a real dent in our plans, to the point where my wife is looking to relocate to another county? state? without such restrictions. It looks like we would have to rent a dwelling and storage unit in town. It also makes it difficult to source recycled building materials, which is one of our goals.