• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Clarification on IPC Minimum Water Closets

rookieplumber

I'm studying for a plumber exam and found a practice test with no tech support so I have to ask others for some clarification on a question. This is somewhat new to me and I dig this forum.

This practice question says the office building has occupancy of 400 total. 200 men, 200 women. The answer explanation used the 400 occupancy and Table 403.1 in the #2 classification to reach the number 9 total water closets.

1676423766586.png

I computed my answer of 10 water closets like this: I included IPC 403.1.1 because I thought that meant I would divide the total occupancy of 400 in half, so 200 men need 2 water closets for the first 50, and 3 more for the remaining 150, total 5. Then 200 women also need 5 water closets for a total of 5. Grand total 10 water closets. Urinal substitution per 424.2 didn't enter the equation so I ignored that. But that's the wrong answer. I see how they got 9 but I need to clarify my process.

1676423668976.png