• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

FAR for the exterior staircase for a second floor ADU

mirzaei.hamid@gmail.

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this thread. I was wondering if you can help me with this simple question (that the city was not willing to help me for, maybe because I asked them a few questions before).

I am building (designing) an ADU on the second floor of a single family home with an exterior stairway on the side of the lot as the ADU entrance.

I was wondering which of the following is true for the exterior stair case:

1- is not counted in FAR because it is not covered.
2- is counted in FAR for ADU.
3- is counted in FAR for the main house.

The city is Palo Alto. Just as an example, please take a look at the exterior staircase we are considering.

I really appreciate your help.

1704707028038.png

FAR is "Floor Area Ratio," and unless California added it in, floor area ratio is not regulated by the building code. It's a zoning concept that has to do with how many total square feet of floor area you're allowed to put on 'X' square feet of land.

Question to the OP: Why would the FAR be applied against either the primary residence or the ADU? My exposure to floor area ration as a planning tool doesn't make any distinction between which of multiple buildings on a site houses the floor area(s). Floor area ratio limits the total square footage of floor area allowed on the site.

The specific regulation under which you are operating may treat it differently. You are going to need to read and understand the regulation.