• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

foundation design

elwood

Hi everyone,

I am designing a footing for a 16’x20’ addition to my home, and was hoping to get some feedback from anyone who might have a little more experience with this in a professional setting. I have been mainly referencing IRC 2009, but being new to structural concrete, I want to make sure that I am not missing anything – or going overboard with the design. This is my first time here, if this is not the appropriate forum for these types of questions, my apologies. Here is my info:

-Eastern PA

-Seismic category B

- Soil – I was told by the local building code office that soil in the county is assumed to be at 3000psf. Looking at the soil maps for the area though, seems that my property (and many other parts of the area) is type DfC which apparently has class SM, ML, GM, and MH at a depth of 53-72” (this terminology is all new to me so understand if I am misinterpreting this). To my understanding this is basically silty loam, loam and clay, which my reference says can be assumed to be 1500-2000 psf. I would think the code office knows what they’re talking about though.

So here is what I have come up with, just want to know if it seems adequate or overkill or what – any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

foundation.jpg

elwood,

Welcome the codes forum! :)

1. Are you planning to fill the hollow CMU's with concrete? 2. What's the straw

for? 3. Is the reinforcement mesh [ in your drawing ] the "welded wire fabric