• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

IBC2012 Type of Construction and Fire Resistance

hjin25

I am new to the building code, and wanted to see if anyone can provide guidance on determining the type of construction given a set of as-builts.

Occupancy: B

Stories: 2

Story Height: 20' (lower), 18' (upper)

Floor Area: 35,000 sf/floor

Vertical system: Combination of r/c, precast concrete panels, steel column

Horizontal system: slab-on-grade, concrete on metal deck (floor) and metal deck on steel beams (roof)

Fully sprinklered

I am missing architectural general notes. Interior partitions have 1 hour rated partitions on specific areas within the building. I don't see anything about additional protection on structural members in terms of fire resistance. Would this be geared towards Type IIB or IB? I read somewhere that if roof is non-combustible, then it falls under Type I.

I greatly appreciate any advice as I have just started learning the code.

hjin25 said:
I am new to the building code, and wanted to see if anyone can provide guidance on determining the type of construction given a set of as-builts.Occupancy: B

Stories: 2

Story Height: 20' (lower), 18' (upper)

Floor Area: 35,000 sf/floor

Vertical system: Combination of r/c, precast concrete panels, steel column

Horizontal system: slab-on-grade, concrete on metal deck (floor) and metal deck on steel beams (roof)

Fully sprinklered