• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

New Member, 10 years serious, 10 years prior learning

socaldano

I am an engineer in another discipline from construction, and I project manage my own properties/projects.
All my properties are residential.
We work hard to make sure all my work is to code.
Most contractors in the area avoid getting permits because the local building departments can be difficult to impossible.
And if the City get a burr in their saddle, they just refuse to pass your work.

I am hoping to learn more about the codes. As the more I read the codes, the more I realize local building inspectors here rarely follow the code.

Most of my houses precede modern building codes. I thought I read in several of the "existing building code" codes, that only what you are trying to fix is in scope for the permit. With few exceptions. Almost everything else is out of scope, except for those things that are clearly dangerous.
For instance, we know unreinforced masony is dangerous. But they city cannot force you to reinforce it to 2020 codes merely because you want to install a like roof, or replace existing windows with windows of the same size.

As a only if I can cite it from the code inspector, I find a lot of contractors who do not want to get permits, do not want to take the time to properly submit permit applications, sufficient drawings, plan for sufficient time for application processing and do not want to follow the code requirements for various reasons.