• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

" We Don't Need No Stinkin Code"

That guy needs to ride with ICE or me for a day or two......he has no clue what goes on...as I didn't when I was a contractor.....If you do good work and yours is all you see......you won't see the problem....

The Rant

The author recognizes there are contractors who do poor work, but finds that if the purpose of permitting and inspections is to protect the consumer and the way in which the process is executed and enforced fails at that.

Good contractors don’t need a government inspector to ensure they deliver quality work. They’ll do the same job whether there’s a permit or not. Where’s the value add? Moreover, many not-so-good contractors don’t bother to pull permits. Where’s the consumer protection?...In an industry without permitting, consumers would save money and be encouraged to be more careful when selecting a contractor. Taxpayers would see a reduction in the cost of government. Contractors would face fewer hassles and the playing field would be leveled for contractors who follow the rules. That’s a triple win.
Unfortunately, I think he's throwing the baby out with the bathwater.

AegisFPE said:
The RantThe author recognizes there are contractors who do poor work, but finds that if the purpose of permitting and inspections is to protect the consumer and the way in which the process is executed and enforced fails at that.

Unfortunately, I think he's throwing the baby out with the bathwater.