• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Where am I required to install light switches?

stevemk

I am not an electrician, nor a builder, but rather I am a low-voltage systems designer for an AV installation company. I am being told that there are requirements for light switch placement, but Google is vaguely telling me otherwise. I am revising an electrician's electrical floor plan with the intent of replacing proposed light switch locations with a smaller number of low-voltage keypads (in this case, Lutron Palladiom or Lutron Alisse keypads) that control the lighting loads in a centralized high-voltage panel in the mechanical room. I have been told by my boss that ingress / regress requirements dictate a light switch, or in this case keypad, be within reach of every doorway, but every Google search would seem to indicate that there is no requirement. Can anyone help me determine the actual requirement, as well as provide suggestions for best practices? My region is North Salt Lake / Bountiful in Salt Lake and Wasatch counties in Utah, USA. I am mainly interested in residential, but would be curious about commercial as well.

So you’re doing motion sensors? I think you need an override switch in addition to the motion sensor.

So you’re doing motion sensors? I think you need an override switch in addition to the motion sensor.