• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Why you bring a hammer to a CMU inspection

jar546

Forum Coordinator
This was suppose to be poured solid but was not. This is why you bring a hammer to an inspection. This is a critical attachment point for the door, and a bond beam. In another section they completely missed a 10' fill cell pour for a wall being used as a sheer wall. Trust no one.

IMG_2993.JPG

I can only imagine the trouble that I would be in if I punched holes in CMU.

I was a carpenter working for an alcoholic superintendent. We were remodeling a Payless drug store. There was a mostly glass wall between the garden dept. and the store. It came time to demo the wall. The drunk took a 20 oz. hammer and threw it at an 8’ x 8’ glass pane. The hammer ricocheted off the glass, shot into the camera dept. and smashed a boom box.

The stores were identical. I was the superintendent on the next store. I saved the glass from that store and a few more. The plan was to enclose my swimming pool. I never got around to it and the glass was used for a greenhouse instead. I made a rack to haul the glass from the lumber that was used to build a security catwalk. The catwalk was made from scaffold plank material.

Not trying to downplay the omission of grout, but I don't understand several things that led to "hammer time":

1. Does your jurisdiction require deputy inspections during grouting?
2. Did it appear solid grouted when looking down from above, such that only smashing the block would reveal the void? Or was the void also visible from above?