1. Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by clicking here: Upgrades
    Dismiss Notice

"Floor Area, Gross" - Roof Overhang - Porch

Discussion in 'Residential Building Codes' started by Jeremy Bair, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. my250r11

    my250r11 Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    158
    My Post from a similar thead.


     
  2. Jeremy Bair

    Jeremy Bair Registered User

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Permit issue...
     
  3. Jeremy Bair

    Jeremy Bair Registered User

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I spoke with the International Code Council today about "floor area" .. they said the roof overhang / "porch" is not included... I went to the local building department with that information... they told me to pound sand, and next week I will be receiving a fine in the mail and a court date.... I told them I will see them there.
     
  4. Jeremy Bair

    Jeremy Bair Registered User

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    In addition, I asked the building department if they would be satisfied if I cut the roof off with a 2' overhang... they said yes... so I asked what the difference is between a 2' and a 6' as far as floor area goes... and what the "code" is for maximum roof overhang... they said their isn't one :) Hahaaa...
     
  5. cda

    cda Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16,597
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Yes there is a code:

    The Code of “Because I Said So”
     
  6. ICE

    ICE Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8,398
    Likes Received:
    901
    "The shed itself, measured from the inside (per the definition of "floor area") is 199 sq/ft. Local building code specifically says"....

    The square footage of a structure is measured on the outside of the structure. I know a few officials that would draw the line at exactly 200 square feet. I am not so inclined....well that is unless I've got a patio cover planted on the side of the shed....but then we go way over the 200 square feet so whats the big deal about a few extra shed square feet.

    For obvious reasons there must be a limit on roof projections from storage sheds. My code limits overhangs to 24". Where you are the limit is achieved by including the porch in the square footage calculation of the structure. We would probably use the same approach in your case because a porch is not an overhang.

    Don't pay attention to these guys that are commiserating with a lost cause. You'll get spanked in court.
     
    #26 ICE, Jun 15, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  7. cda

    cda Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16,597
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Obvious solution

    Run the worm saw down the length of it, about six inches from the edge of the exterior walls,,,

    Install four or five hinges or pins and fold it up or remove it when the inspector comes by,,

    And wells no overhang

    Till the sun comes up, than fold it / pin it back in place.
     
  8. mark handler

    mark handler Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    761
    The code is clear

    The space is usable. It does not matter when it was built, or by whom.
     
  9. mark handler

    mark handler Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    761
    There's really no difference between this and the shed
    This is from the interp manual


    upload_2019-6-15_9-24-39.png
     
  10. Jeremy Bair

    Jeremy Bair Registered User

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    local code does not say "building area" ... it says "floor area"... hence the issue.
     

Share This Page