• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Gas logs

ICE

Oh Well
Some time ago I was with a friend looking at new condominiums to buy. At one location in the city of Anaheim Hills I noticed a conventional wood burning fireplace that was plumbed with gas pipe for a log lighter or gas logs but no appliance was installed. The chimney has a damper that could close completely. I mentioned that the damper should have hardware that prevents it from closing all the way. The salesperson asked me what I based that statement on and I told her that I am an inspector.

Well that's as far as it went, until I got a call (at work) from the Anaheim Superintendent of Building.(SOB) It seems that the saleslady told the developer who called the building dept. They had my name because I had to sign in and they were able to track me down....and chew me out. The SOB was angry that I created a ***** storm in his jurisdiction. The SOB stated that the hardware to prevent the damper from closing isn't required until or unless there is a gas appliance installed in the fireplace. The SOB of Anaheim went so far as to call my SOB who concurred and who called me to tell me so.

I don't get it. The part can't cost $2 and takes 20 seconds to install. I say that if gas is plumbed to the fireplace, the damper should be blocked and not wait for a H/O to do it because he installed a log lighter. It is worth noting that the hardware is never installed before I require it, with or without a log lighter/gas log.

Just in case either SOB is looking in: