1. Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by clicking here: Upgrades
    Dismiss Notice

New CAD / Software Discussion Area

Discussion in 'CAD / Software Discussion' started by jar546, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. jar546

    jar546 *****istrator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7,344
    Likes Received:
    584
    Welcome to the new area specifically for the discussion of CAD and other software related issues, news. Please make use of this area.
     
  2. MtnArch

    MtnArch Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    40
    Okay ... I'll get it started.

    How many DataCAD users do we have here?
     
  3. mark handler

    mark handler Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,404
    Likes Received:
    800
    I used DataCad twenty five years ago.....
     
  4. MtnArch

    MtnArch Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    40
    Why not now? What do you use?
     
  5. mark handler

    mark handler Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,404
    Likes Received:
    800
    Autocad and Revit
     
  6. GBrackins

    GBrackins Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use autocad and solidbuilder (in the learning process).
     
  7. tbz

    tbz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    23
    We use AutoCAD & Solidworks
     
  8. MarkRandall

    MarkRandall Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use AutoCAD Architecture (ACA) at the office, but I'm a throwback to AutoCAD with Archt Addon for projects from the home office. I envy those who have switched to Revit. I identified Revit has the program for my future long before Autodesk bought Revit. AutoCAD Architecture was forced on me when I quit my sole proprietorship and went to work for a developer. After 5 years of ACA, I still insist on using Archt for projects from the home office. I am much faster with Archt. Economically, it hasn't made sense to crossgrade to Revit, but I'm getting to a point in my career where I still would like to, but the idea of learning new software is intimidating. In the late '80s and early '90s, I was probably the most technical minded person at firms I worked for prior to AutoCAD adoption.

    My first CAD program was a program for the original Amiga 1000. I dabbled with it from home, but never used it on a project. I had no way of printing. My first computer rendering was also with the Amiga. That rendering was pretty crude by today's standards, but it impressed my employer enough that they shared it with the client. It was done at home on my own time just for the fun of it. Unfortunately, I don't find time to do things for the fun of it anymore.
     
  9. Mule

    Mule Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dang.. How old are you? Ohhhh you are talking about 1980's and 1990's! i thought you were really old for a while there!!!! :)
     
    JBI likes this.
  10. MarkRandall

    MarkRandall Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sometimes I feel really old, sometimes I feel really young :). Tomorrow I will feel older.
     
  11. mark handler

    mark handler Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,404
    Likes Received:
    800
    My first Apple II, "Draw" 1978
     
  12. Supermanglide

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    We use AutoCAD 2008!!! good soft!!
     
  13. Pcinspector1

    Pcinspector1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    414
    We drew our plans up on a SPF-2, worked like a charm!

    pc1
     
  14. righter101

    righter101 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone work much with autodesk "CIVIL 3D"??

    I am in school for my Civil Eng. degree and need to use it for a project. Just wondering what to expect for learning curve? how long to get up to speed?

    I am waiting for delivery of a new computer this week because I ignored the "technical system requirements", rather treated them like "technical system suggestions", and managed to completly lock my computer up.

    Thanks for any feedback.
     
  15. MechanicalPiper

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: New CAD / Software Discussion Area

    Is anyone using Sketchup? Or is that not considered in the same category. I use it importing pdf pages of the floor plan, and then creating my ISOs (plumbing) for submitting for permits when architect didn't include piping plans. I like how you can then open and navigate your sketchup file onsite with android, or even import them to Google Earth just for fun.

    I've never used any other sort of CAD or 3D modeling program, so I'm not even sure they are similar in capabilites.

    -- Note II, TapaTalk II--
     
  16. GBrackins

    GBrackins Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sketchup is a pretty interesting tool. I use it for making quick 3d models of structures.
     
  17. brudgers

    brudgers Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    2
    It has limitations. It suitable for many tasks. Like any other tool.
     
  18. MechanicalPiper

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    What does everyone here use for making isometric drawings. I've only tried Sketchup, and I find for small things, it's almost easier to do them by hand with isometric graph paper and a ruler.
     
  19. tmurray

    tmurray Sawhorse

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    462
    Autocad is the easiest I've found.
     
  20. brudgers

    brudgers Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yep. It's cheaper too.
     

Share This Page