• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Somebody ought'a write a book

Yankee Chronicler

I often hear building official colleagues complaining about the quality (or lack thereof) in the plans they receive for permits, and the frequently repeated lament is "Somebody ought'a write a book."

I'm an architect, and I'm also a writer. Over the years I have had articles published in several trade and professional magazines, I've written a number of (self-published) books, and I've even had a feature article in Fine Homebuilding magazine. So I've decided that if a book to tell architects what we need to see in construction drawings needs to be written and nobody else has stepped up to the plate, I may as well do it.

With that in mind, please let me know -- either with posts in this thread or by PM -- what you think architects need to be told to put in their drawings.

Thanks.

I believe that what you propose to address is already addressed in Construction Specifications Institute and AIA publications. I believe there is an AIA standard which tells you where to locate different types of information.

My sense is that much of the confusion is because designers and plan checkers are often not familiar with these documents and because plan checkers are lazy. The statements by some plan checkers that they do not look at the specifications is in conflict with the code. Construction specifications are construction documents.