• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

What happens if a city approves a deck that seems to violate fire codes

Jane

I am not a building professional but I have been fighting the city regarding a permit that was issued to my neighbor to build a deck that covers most of the rear yard. Our homes are townhomes so there is no side yard. From my research it seems that the permit was issued even thought violated multiple zoning codes and the city told me it had been approved correctly and then told me I could appeal after the window had passed. The ombudsman is currently assessing the situation as I was initially told I couldn't see the plans as they were copyrighted (that was not the case)n and then on multiple visits and emails to the city I was told that the building permit complied with zoning.

So, in short, I'm trying to find a way to get the city to bring this deck into compliance. In reading the IBC codes (yep - that's where I'm at :) ) I noticed that there were specific rules for fire codes. I'm not sure how to upload a picture of the structure but I can if some can tell me how. Thanks in advance.

67809734_10155835171387255_3733455117240762368_o.jpg